Commissions and Committees

Airport Land Use Commission

The Comprehensive Land Use Plans for the Airports are intended to protect and promote the safety and welfare of residents of the airport vicinity and users of the airport while ensuring the continued operation of the airports. Specifically, these plans seek to protect the public from the adverse effects of aircraft noise, to ensure that people and facilities are not concentrated in areas susceptible to aircraft accidents, and to ensure that no structures or activities encroach upon or adversely affect the use of navigable airspace.

Website | Commissioners | Application Forms

Cherry Valley Committee

The committee consists of representatives from the local community and technical experts in the field of water quality. The committee will review technical data presented by regional experts and make recommendations to the Riverside County Board of Supervisors, Cities of Beaumont and Banning, and the Board of Beaumont Cherry Valley Water District regarding growing concerns of groundwater quality in the Beaumont water basin area.


Children and Families Commission, First 5 Riverside

First 5 Riverside, the Riverside County Children & Families Commission, is a public entity funded by Proposition 10 tobacco tax revenues and established by the County Board of Supervisors in 1999. First 5 Riverside provides funding of education, childcare, and health care services that help families and children through age five develop a strong foundation for success in school and throughout their lives.

Website | Commissioners | Advisory Committee | Forms

Commission for Women:

Originally established in 1976 as an advisory board to the Riverside County Board of Supervisors, the County of Riverside Commission for Women seeks to improve the status of all women by ensuring opportunities for each woman to develop to her full potential. In support of this mission, the Commission for Women identifies problems, defines issues and recommends policies and procedures to the County Board of Supervisors regarding, but not limited to, women and health, the workplace, family, education, violence, law and society.

Fifth District Commissioners: Kathi Scott • Ruthee

Website | Commissioners

Indian Gaming Committee

When California tribal governments negotiated and signed the historic Tribal-State Compact in 1999, they insisted on the establishment of the Special Distribution Fund (SDF), designed to return monies to local communities impacted by tribal government gaming facilities, and its inclusion in the Compact. The SDF creates a funding source for many public uses, including local governments impacted by tribal government gaming, local governments impacted by tribal casinos not currently paying into the SDF, special districts impacted by tribal government gaming, gambling addiction programs, and reimbursement to the Division of Gambling Control and the California Gambling Control Commission for regulatory costs, and providing revenues for non-gaming tribes.

5th District Commissioner Representative: Marion Ashley

Website | Committee Members | Grant Application Forms

Land Development Committee

The Land Development Committee is comprised of various County Departments who review land development projects for compliance with County Regulations.

5th District Commissioner Representative: Jan Zuppardo


Local Agency Formation Commission

The Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is a regulatory state-mandated legislative agency. LAFCOs are established by State Law to assist the Legislature in promoting orderly development and in balancing development with competing state interests of discouraging urban sprawl, preserving agricultural, open space land and extending government services efficiently.

Website | Commission Members

Planning Commission

big-logoRiverside County, like a quilt, is a composite of differing lifestyles connected together through common strands. The County’s General Plan is designed to ensure that the quilt retains its core identity by guiding future growth that respects the diversity of the region, shapes and configures development in relation to the land it occupies and ensures that its various parts relate to its whole.It is the goal of the Planning Department to provide timely, responsive and helpful service to all members of the public and promote innovative development that effectively accommodates a balance of housing, employment and service opportunities.


Transportation Commission

The Commission has 30 members and a small administrative staff that runs its programs and projects. Every city in the county holds a vote on the commission along with the five members of the Riverside County Board of Supervisors. The Governor also appoints a non-voting member to the board who is the Director of Caltrans from the local District office.

Website | Commissioner Members

5th District Commissioner Member: Marion Ashley

Youth Advisory Council

Youth Advisory CouncilYouth Advisory Council is made up of high school students between the ages of 14 and 18 years old from all over the County. The Council meets twice a month to discuss, and plan events. As well, as to discuss issues pertaining to the youth.

5th District Council Information

Fifth District Office locations

Special Events-click here
County Administrative Center:

4080 Lemon Street
5th Floor Riverside,
(951) 955-1050 

Moreno Valley
District Office:

14375 Nason St.
Suite 207 Moreno Valley, 92555

District Office:

137 N. Perris Blvd.
Suite #008 Perris,